20th Texas Silver-Haired Legislature

20th Texas Silver-Haired Legislature

August 3, 2023

(Pictured: Mike Taylor, Kay Sanders, Pat Gleason-Wynn, Charles Scoma)

Charles Scoma, Pat Gleason-Wynn, Mike Taylor and Kay Sanders were sworn in as members of the 20th Texas Silver-Haired Legislature (TSHL) on July 17, 2023. They are four of the 71 delegates representing 23 of the 28 Area Agency on Aging regions in Texas who were sworn in at the Texas State Capitol for a two-year term by the Honorable Gary VanDeaver, member of the Texas House of Representatives from New Boston, Texas.

Charles Scoma from North Richland Hills was elected Speaker Pro Tem, and Pat Gleason-Wynn from Arlington was elected Secretary. Kay Sanders is from Fort Worth, and Mike Taylor is from Colleyville. All four representatives are members of the Advisory Council of the Area Agency on Aging of Tarrant County.

The TSHL representatives will research issues of concern to older Texans, prepare resolutions for proposed legislation, pass them through committee, and vote on them in full chamber at the Texas State Capitol for the TSHL Legislative Session to be held in the Spring of 2024. Approved resolutions are included in a TSHL Legislative Report that will be delivered to all Legislators, as well as to the Governor and Lt. Governor, in advance of the 2025 State session.

“We sincerely thank our elected officials for the significant number of bills passed to address the needs of older Texans,” said Sherry Hubbard, TSHL Speaker for the 20th Session. Citizens can be proud of, and comforted by, the 38-year relationship of the TSHL and the State Legislature that has produced over 275 pieces of legislation related to concerns for the ever-growing population of older Texans,” she stated.
The Texas Silver-Haired Legislature is a non-partisan body authorized by the 69th Texas
Legislature with the adoption of SCR 37, on April 3, 1985.